Farce

Farce

Wow, I can’t lie I feel pretty damn stupid because I don’t know what farce means. I have heard of the word several of times but I have never used it. A quick Google search tells me that the definition of farce is ‘a comic dramatic work using buffoonery and horseplay and typically including crude characterization and ludicrously improbable situations’. Now, what on earth is horseplay and since when was buffoonery a word? A second definition tells me that farce is ‘an event or situation that is absurd or disorganized’. Now, that makes a little more sense to me.

There are around 750,000 to 1 million words in the English language and I’ll have to say that my favourite word of the English language by far is payday. No, I’m only kidding (partially). I like the word obnoxious – not for the meaning but the way it sounds. I also like how the words prestige, institution, scientific, serenade, serendipity and luscious sounds to my ears. I dislike like the word ‘piss’ – it just sounds so vulgar to my ears and makes me cringe. Along with the words cleft, mucus, cardboard, crinkle and Donald Trump 😉

2 thoughts on “Farce

Leave a Reply

